

Dr Wong Tien Hua was re-elected as the SMA President during the SMA Annual General Meeting (AGM), held at the Alumni Medical Centre on 17 April 2016.

Dr Wong commenced the proceedings by thanking members for attending the AGM. He highlighted SMA's new slogan, "For Doctors, For Patients", which serves to remind that the SMA's focus is not just to serve its members, but the society as a whole, including our patients.

Honorary Secretary Dr Daniel Lee referred members to the SMA Annual Report 2015/2016 and also reminded attendees of the upcoming SMA Annual Dinner on 14 May 2016 at Raffles Town Club.

Next, Honorary Treasurer Dr Tammy Chan presented the accounts for SMA, highlighting various key elements of the financial statements, as well as SMA's approach to its finances.

Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee, Chairperson of SMA Pte Ltd (SMAPL), presented the accounts for SMAPL and highlighted its main role of investing returns from SMA's surplus. He also discussed ongoing plans to explore the possible purchase of a property.

Prof Wong Tien Yin, Chairperson of the SMA Charity Fund (SMACF), provided a brief on SMACF's objectives, past projects and activities, and upcoming plans. He highlighted the unique nature of SMACF's approach to help cover living expenses of needy medical students. Prof Wong expressed hope that these beneficiaries will become SMA members and contribute back to the SMA and society.

Members present affirmed the SMA Council's proposal to elect Prof Balasubramaniam Ponnampalam, Adj A/Prof Lim Lean Huat and Prof Ong Yong Yau as SMA Honorary Members. The Honorary Membership will be conferred during the SMA Annual Dinner.

Election for the 57th SMA Council was then conducted. The SMA Council looks forward to serving its members and the medical community, for the betterment of healthcare for all Singaporeans. •



Standing (from left): Dr Woon Yng Yng Bertha, Dr Anantham Devanand, Dr Ng Chee Kwan, Dr Tan Tse Kuang Charles, Dr Tan Tze Lee, Dr Chong Yeh Woei, Dr Wong Chiang Yin, Dr Lee Yik Voon, Dr Tan Yia Swam

Sitting (from left): Dr Loo Kai Guo Benny, Dr Chan Teng Mui Tammy, Dr Toh Choon Lai, Dr Wong Tien Hua, Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee, Dr Lee Hsien Chieh Daniel

Not in picture: A/Prof Chin Jing Jih, Dr Lee Pheng Soon, Dr Lim Kheng Choon, Dr Noorul Fatha As'art, A/Prof Tan Choon Kiat Nigel



# **57TH SMA COUNCIL** 2016 - 2017

#### **PRESIDENT**

Dr Wong Tien Hua

#### **1ST VICE PRESIDENT**

Dr Toh Choon Lai

#### 2ND VICE PRESIDENT

Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee

## **HONORARY SECRETARY**

Dr Lee Hsien Chieh Daniel

### **HONORARY ASSISTANT SECRETARY**

Dr Lim Kheng Choon

### **HONORARY TREASURER**

Dr Chan Teng Mui Tammy

# **HONORARY ASSISTANT TREASURER**

Dr Loo Kai Guo Benny

# **COUNCIL MEMBERS**

A/Prof Chin Jina Jih Dr Chong Yeh Woei Dr Anantham Devanand Dr Noorul Fatha As'art Dr Lee Pheng Soon Dr Lee Yik Voon Dr Ng Chee Kwan A/Prof Tan Choon Kiat Nigel Dr Tan Tse Kuang Charles Dr Tan Tze Lee Dr Tan Yia Swam

Dr Wong Chiang Yin Dr Woon Yng Yng Bertha