## 55th SMA Annual General Meeting

By Lee Sze Yong, Manager, Council Support

**DR WONG TIEN HUA** was elected as the new SMA President during the SMA Annual General Meeting (AGM), held in the Arthur Lim Auditorium at the Alumni Medical Centre on 12 April 2015.

Outgoing President A/Prof Chin Jing Jih started the proceedings by thanking members for attending the AGM. He also expressed that SMA is fulfilling its position as a rational, reasonable, and fair organisation that engages with various policymakers, by taking a longer and broader perspective.

A/Prof Chin concluded by thanking his fellow council members, volunteers in SMA's various committees, and the secretariat staff.

Honorary Secretary Dr Chan Teng Mui Tammy referred members to the 55th SMA Annual Report 2014/2015, highlighting that Dr Ng Chee Kwan and A/Prof Tan Choon Kiat Nigel had been co-opted to the SMA Council, after Dr Abdul Razakjr Omar and Prof Wong Tien Yin stepped down from the Council in 2014. Dr Ng and A/Prof Tan made brief introductions to those present at the AGM.

Next, Dr Lee Hsien Chieh Daniel, Honorary Treasurer, presented the accounts for SMA, SMA Pte Ltd (SMAPL) and SMA Trust Fund, underlining various key elements of the financial statements, as well as SMA's approach to its finances.

Dr Wong Chiang Yin, one of the directors of the SMA Charity Fund (SMACF), provided a brief on SMACF's objectives, past projects and activities, and upcoming plans. SMACF successfully renewed its Institution of a Public Character status for another two years. Dr Wong



Standing (from left) Dr Noorul Fatha As'art, Dr Woon Yng Yng Bertha, Dr Tan Yia Swam, Dr Wong Chiang Yin, A/Prof Tan Choon Kiat Nigel, Dr Tan Tze Lee, Dr Toh Han Chong, Dr Chong Yeh Woei, Dr Lee Yik Voon, Dr Lee Pheng Soon, Dr Anantham Devanand, Dr Ng Chee Kwan Sitting (from left) Dr Loo Kai Guo Benny, Dr Chan Teng Mui Tammy, A/Prof Chin Jing Jih, Dr Wong Tien Hua, Dr Toh Choon Lai, Dr Lee Hsien Chieh Daniel, Dr Lim Kheng Choon

Not in picture A/Prof Tan Sze Wee

encouraged members to donate to SMACF, highlighting the 300% tax benefit for the year 2015.

Members present affirmed the SMA Council's proposal to elect Singapore President Tony Tan Keng Yam as SMA Honorary Member.

Members present also affirmed the appointment of A/Prof Cheong Pak Yean and Dr Lee Pheng Soon, taking over from Dr Khoo Chong Yew and Dr Low Lip Ping, as trustees of the SMA Trust Fund. A/Prof Chin thanked Dr Khoo and Dr Low for their service to SMA. A/Prof Cheong Pak Yean, Dr Lee Pheng Soon, Prof Low Cheng Hock, Dr Tan Kok Soo and Dr Tan Yew Ghee will serve on the SMA Trust Fund for a three-year term from 2015 to 2018.

Members present also affirmed the appointment of Prof Chee Yam Cheng, to take over from Dr Yong Nen Khiong, as trustee of SMAPL. A/Prof Chin thanked Dr Yong for his service to SMA. Prof Chee Yam Cheng, Prof Low Cheng Hock, and Dr Tan Cheng Bock will serve as trustees for SMAPL for a five-year term from 2015 to 2020.

Elections for the SMA Council were then conducted. In addition to Dr Wong's election as SMA President, A/Prof Chin Jing Jih and Dr Toh Choon Lai were named 1st and 2nd SMA Vice President respectively. The new SMA Council looks forward to being of service to the members of SMA, the medical community, and the betterment of healthcare for all Singaporeans.

## 56th SMA Council 2015 - 2016

President
1st Vice President
2nd Vice President
Honorary Secretary
Honorary Assistant Secretary
Honorary Treasurer
Honorary Assistant Treasurer

## **Council Members**

Dr Anantham Devanand Dr Chong Yeh Woei Dr Lee Pheng Soon Dr Lee Yik Voon Dr Ng Chee Kwan Dr Noorul Fatha As'art A/Prof Tan Choon Kiat Nigel Dr Wong Tien Hua A/Prof Chin Jing Jih Dr Toh Choon Lai Dr Lee Hsien Chieh Daniel Dr Lim Kheng Choon Dr Chan Teng Mui Tammy Dr Loo Kai Guo Benny

## A/Prof Tan Sze Wee Dr Tan Tze Lee Dr Tan Yia Swam Dr Toh Han Chong Dr Wong Chiang Yin Dr Woon Yng Yng Bertha