

Standing, L to R Dr Tan Yia Swam, Dr Woon Yng Yng Bertha, Dr Noorul Fatha As'art, Prof Wong Tien Yin, Dr Loo Kai Guo Benny, Dr Tan Tze Lee, A/Prof Tan Sze Wee, Dr Chong Yeh Woei, Dr Wong Chiang Yin, Dr Toh Choon Lai and Dr Anantham Devanand
Sitting, L to P Dr Lee Yik Voon, Dr Lee Hsien Chieh Daniel, Dr Wong Tien Hua, A/Prof Chin Jing Jih, Dr Toh Han Chong, Dr Chan Teng Mui Tammy and Dr Lim Kheng Choon

Not in picture Dr Abdul Razakjr Omar and Dr Lee Pheng Soon

54th SMA Annual General Meeting

By Lee Sze Yong

A/PROF CHIN JING JIH was re-elected as SMA President for the third consecutive year during the SMA Annual General Meeting (AGM), held in the Arthur Lim Auditorium at the Alumni Medical Centre on 6 April 2014.

A/Prof Chin started the meeting with an opening address. He began by thanking members for attending the AGM. Highlighting the challenging local healthcare landscape, involving issues that cannot be resolved by one group alone, he called on all doctors in Singapore to come together to tackle these problems.

Honorary Secretary Dr Tammy Chan referred members to the SMA Annual Report 2013 - 2014, highlighting that Dr Anantham Devanand had been co-opted to the 54th SMA Council in September 2013, after Dr Chow U-Jin stepped down from the SMA Council during his term. Next, A/Prof Tan Sze Wee, Honorary Treasurer, presented the accounts for SMA and SMA Pte Ltd, underlining various key elements of the financial statements, as well as future directions for SMA.

Prof Wong Tien Yin, Chairman of the SMA Charity Fund (SMACF), provided a brief on SMACF's objectives, past projects and activities, and upcoming plans. SMACF, SMA's independent charity arm, is now an Institution of a Public Character and aims to raise \$500,000 this year to fund current and upcoming programmes.

Members present also affirmed the SMA Council's proposal to elect medical educators Dr Feng Pao Hsii, Dr Poh Soo Chuan and Prof Abu Rauff as SMA Honorary Members. The Honorary Membership was later conferred on the three doctors during the SMA Annual Dinner held at The Regent Singapore on 10 May 2014.

Elections for the 55th SMA Council were also conducted. In addition to A/Prof Chin's re-election, Dr Wong Tien Hua and Dr Toh Han Chong were named 1st and 2nd Vice President of SMA respectively. The SMA Council also welcomed a new member, Dr Benny Loo, currently a Paediatrics resident with SingHealth, who briefly introduced himself to those present at the AGM. The 55th SMA Council looks forward to being of service to the members of SMA and the healthcare sector in Singapore.

55th SMA Council 2014 - 2015

President
1st Vice President
2nd Vice President
Honorary Secretary
Honorary Assistant Secretary
Honorary Treasurer
Honorary Assistant Treasurer

A/Prof Chin Jing Jih
Dr Wong Tien Hua
Dr Toh Han Chong
Dr Chan Teng Mui Tammy
Dr Lim Kheng Choon
Dr Lee Hsien Chieh Daniel
Dr Lee Yik Voon

Council Members

Dr Abdul Razakjr Omar Dr Anantham Devanand Dr Chong Yeh Woei Dr Lee Pheng Soon Dr Loo Kai Guo Benny Dr Noorul Fatha As'art A/Prof Tan Sze Wee Dr Tan Tze Lee Dr Tan Yia Swam Dr Toh Choon Lai Dr Wong Chiang Yin Prof Wong Tien Yin Dr Woon Yng Yng Bertha