54th SMA Annual General Meeting

MA held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) in the Arthur Lim Auditorium at the Alumni Medical Centre on 7 April 2013. A/Prof Chin Jing Jih was re-elected to serve his second year as President of SMA. He is currently Divisional Chairman, Integrated & Community Care and senior consultant geriatrician in the Continuing and Community Care department at Tan Tock Seng Hospital.

Dr Wong Tien Hua, a GP in private practice, was elected as the 1st Vice President, while Prof Wong Tien Yin, Director of the Singapore Eye Research Institute, was elected as the 2nd Vice President.

Additionally, two new council members, Dr Lim Kheng Choon and Dr Tan Tze Lee, were elected into the 54th SMA Council. Dr Lim graduated from Duke-NUS Graduate Medical School in 2011 and is currently a Radiology resident. Dr Tan is a GP in private practice, and is also currently the Honorary Treasurer of the College of Family Physicians Singapore.

A/Prof Chin thanked the members in attendance for taking time out to attend the AGM and was glad to see members of all ages at the meeting, which was a healthy sign for SMA. He shared SMA's work in helping and enhancing their members' ability to serve patients' needs and the nation's healthcare. A/Prof Chin called on the newly appointed 54th SMA Council to lead the way in enhancing trust and collegiality within the profession. Harnessing on the wisdom of the seniors, and the energy of the juniors, he called for members to stand up and make a difference, so that SMA and the medical profession can continue to stay relevant in the years ahead.

Dr Tammy Chan, Honorary Secretary, brought members through the AGM agenda, highlighting the events of the previous year via the Annual Report, and introducing upcoming events like the Annual Dinner (11 May), SARS 10th Anniversary Symposium (31 May) and National Medical Convention (31 August).

A/Prof Tan Sze Wee, Honorary Treasurer, presented SMA's accounts, updating members that SMA's financial status has remained healthy. He reiterated SMA's intent to continue to work hard for its members and will plough back income earned to benefit the SMA membership through course fee support and SMA's work. Dr Wong Chiang Yin, Executive Director and Chairman, Board of Directors for SMA Pte Ltd (SMAPL), introduced SMAPL, which functions as an investment holding entity and whose aim is to earn a reasonable rate of return that matches inflation in Singapore.

A/Prof Chin called on the newly appointed 54th SMA Council to lead the way in enhancing trust and collegiality within the profession. Harnessing on the wisdom of the seniors, and the energy of the juniors, he called for members to stand up and make a difference, so that SMA and the medical profession can continue to stay relevant in the years ahead.

The members present affirmed the Council's proposal to elect medical educator Prof Low Cheng Hock and local Hand Surgery pioneer Emeritus Prof Robert Pho for the SMA Honorary Membership. The SMA Honorary Membership will be conferred to Prof Low and Emeritus Prof Pho at the SMA Annual Dinner, which will be held on 11 May 2013 at Sheraton Towers Singapore. Members also voted to appoint Kreston David Yeung PAC as professional auditors for the ensuing year.

Towards the end of the AGM, Dr Tan Yia Swam took the floor to put forth an impassioned challenge for the younger generation to step up and not be apathetic about matters related to the profession, while Dr Wong Chiang Yin updated the members about the SMA Charity Fund, which has been set up and is currently pursuing charity status.

The Installation Ceremony for the 54th SMA Council was conducted after the AGM on the same day, in the SMA Secretariat Conference Room.



Standing, L to R: Dr Tan Yia Swam, Dr Chia Ghim Song, Dr Abdul Razakjr Omar, Dr Lim Kheng Choon, Dr Chong Yeh Woei, Dr Tan Tze Lee, Dr Wong Chiang Yin, Dr Toh Choon Lai and Dr Noorul Fatha As'art Sitting, L to R: Dr Lee Hsien Chieh Daniel, A/Prof Tan Sze Wee, Dr Wong Tien Hua, A/Prof Chin Jing Jih, Dr Chan Teng Mui Tammy, Dr Lee Yik Voon and Dr Woon Yng Yng Bertha Absent: Dr Chow U-Jin, Dr Lee Pheng Soon, Dr Toh Han Chong and Prof Wong Tien Yin

54th SMA Council **2013-201**4

President
Ist Vice President
2nd Vice President
Honorary Secretary
Assistant Honorary Secretary
Honorary Treasurer
Assistant Honorary Treasurer
Council Members

Prof Wong Tien Yin Dr Chan Teng Mui Tammy Dr Lee Yik Voon A/Prof Tan Sze Wee Dr Lee Hsien Chieh Daniel Dr Abdul Razakjr Omar Dr Chia Ghim Song Dr Chong Yeh Woei Dr Chow U-Jin Dr Lee Pheng Soon Dr Lim Kheng Choon Dr Noorul Fatha As'art Dr Tan Tze Lee Dr Tan Yia Swam Dr Toh Choon Lai Dr Toh Han Chong Dr Wong Chiang Yin Dr Woon Yng Yng Bertha

A/Prof Chin Jing Jih

Dr Wong Tien Hua

New faces in Council



Dr Lim Kheng Choon



Dr Tan Tze Lee