You've Made a Difference!

he SMA Medical Students' Assistance Fund has helped 70 students, from the National University of Singapore (NUS) Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine (YLLSoM), to the tune of close to \$270,000, in its few years of existence.

In 2007, SMA, in partnership with YLLSoM, and with the support of the NUS Development Office, set up the SMA Medical Students' Assistance Fund, to help less privileged medical students with their basic living expenses. Currently, donations to the fund are collected by the NUS Development Office, which are then disbursed to the students by the National University Health System.

This is a long term commitment by SMA, and we will match dollar-to-dollar donations from SMA members and well-wishers, up to a maximum of \$20,000 a year. All donations collected will go directly to the students, and will not become part of an endowment fund. Monetary donations of any amount made will also qualify for a 2.5 times tax deduction from I January 2011 to 31 December 2015.

If you would like to make a donation, please make your cheque payable to the National University of Singapore, and write "SMA Medical Students' Assistance Fund" on the reverse. Your generosity will go a long way in helping less privileged medical students at NUS with their living expenses.

SMA would also like to extend our sincere thanks to the following SMA members and well-wishers for generously donating to the SMA Medical Students' Assistance Fund from January to December 2011:

COUNCIL NEWS

Dr Abu Rauff Mdm Ambigadevi Kumarapathy Dr Amelia Santoso Mr Ang Ah Leong Ms Ang Mona Mr Ang Yew Kiat Anu Dr Chai Louis Mdm Chan Emily Ms Chan Su Mei Sharon Ms Chee Catherine Dr Chen Mei Lin Dr Cheong Angela Dr Cheong Yan Yan Ann Mrs Chia Kathleen Margaret Dr Chia Patrick Dr Chiew Yoke Fong Dr Chin Yee Choong Dr Chio Tze-Wei Martin Dr Chionh Siok Bee Dr Chok Aik Yong Dr Chong Kwang Dick Mr Chong Toh Kwan Dr Chu Siu Wen Dr Chua Seng Chew Ms Chua Sui Chen Jesslyn Mr Chua William Mrs Chung Dr Dale Fisher Dr Koura Aaryan Nath Dr Lee Wickly Dr Eng Hsi Ko Peter Dr Euan Murugasu Ms Famajati Sastro Mrs Foo Lee Luan Mr Francis da Costa Dr Gamini Kumarasinghe Dr Goh Boon Cher Mr Gui Johnny Mr Ho Chee Peng Mrs Ho Helena Prof Ho Lawrence Ms Ho Siew Foong Aileen Dr Ho Soon Teck Dr Hoe Ah Leong The Infection Control Team (National University Hospital) The Infectious Diseases Division (NUS) Dr J J Murugasu Ms Joanna Dr loel da Costa Dr Julius Hoehne Mr Ken Lie Dr Kho Kwang Mui Ms Khoo Hong Keow Khoo Tian Lock Dr Koh Siam Soon Philip Mr Kon Winston

Dr Kwee David Prof Kwee Lee Edmund Kwek Khee Leng Mdm Lai Yee Khim Ms Lanny Widjaja Dr Lau Tang Ching Mrs Leaena Tambyah Dr Lee Chun Yue Francis Mrs Lee Dilys Mrs Lee Kip Lee Elizabeth Dr Leong Yan Hoi Mr Leong Yue Tak Dr Lim Chee Min Mr Lim Eng Hock Dr Lim Erle Dr Lim Jenny Mrs Lim Puay Eng Prof Lim Siew Ming Arthur Dr Lim Thuan Kiang Stephen Dr Lin Raymond Dr Ling Chaw Ming Mrs Loh Dr Loh Keh Chuan Ms Loh Moon Dr Loke Yue Nam Mr Low Sai Choy M | E Chelliah Ms Madeline Dr Mas Suhaila Bte Isa Mdm Mun Swee Heong Dr Munt Ian Gordon Dr Ng Ban Cheong Dr Ng Keck Sim Dr Ng Lay Guat Dr Ng Lee Beng Dr Ng Shwu Yong Esther Mr Ngiam Tong Dow Prof Oh Min Sen Vernon Dr Ong Choo Phaik Caroline Dr Ong Eng Cheng Dr Ong Eng Kang Prof Ong Kian Chung Benjamin Dr Ong Yong Wan A/Prof Paul Anantharajah Tambyah Mr Richard Tambyah Rumi

Ms Seah Serene Sharimimi and Rohimi Dr Sim Sze Keen Dr Sng Bobby Prof Sol Posen Dr Su Hong Sze Ms Suriana Mrs Tan Annie Mrs Tan Jennifer Dr Tan Ken Mr Tan Kok Hua Ms Tan Siok Hui Dr Tan Yeang Tin Dr Tan Yew Weng David Ms Teo Bee Lan Catherine Dr Teo lia Hui Dr Thida Win A/Prof Thirumoorthy s/o Thamotharampillai Dr Wan Andre Ms Wee Geraldine Dr Wong Teck Cheung Dr Yap Lian Eng Ivy Mr Yeo Eugel Dr Yong Nen Khiong Dr Yoshikuni Susumu Dr Yu Moses Mrs Yuen Ruth Ms Zhou Chanelle

This list may not be exhaustive. If we have inadvertently omitted the name of any donor, we apologise for the oversight. **SMA**