

### SINGAPORE MEDICAL ASSOCIATION

# **UNCONFIRMED MINUTES OF 2024 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING (AGM)**

# HELD ON 29 APRIL 2024 (SUNDAY) 2 PM AT AUDITORIUM, SMF BUILDING, LEVEL 2, 2985 JALAN BUKIT MERAH, SINGAPORE 159457 AND VIA VIDEOCONFERENCE (ZOOM)

At 2 pm, 13 members had signed in (12 in-person and 1 online). The meeting was postponed for half an hour in accordance with Article XI, Section 3.

At 2.30 pm, with 16 members (13 in-person and 3 online) signed in, Clin Asst Prof Benny Loo Kai Guo (B Loo), SMA Honorary Secretary, called the meeting to order.

#### 1. GROUND RULES

1.1. Clin Asst Prof B Loo highlighted the Ground Rules and requested that members attending via videoconference use the Chat function in Zoom to post questions or comments, and to keep their microphone muted, unless they were speaking. Clin Asst Prof Loo also sought all members' cooperation to identify themselves by name for the recording of the proceedings.

#### 2. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF 2023 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

2.1. The 2023 minutes were taken as adopted in accordance with Article XI, Section 4. No request was received for amendments and there were no matters arising from the 2023 AGM minutes.

#### 3. REVIEW OF ANNUAL REPORT OF THE SMA COUNCIL 2023/2024

- 3.1. Clin Asst Prof B Loo referred members to the SMA Annual Report 2023/2024. The Annual Report was circulated to members via email, prior to the AGM. A QR code was also included during the AGM presentation, for members present to access the Annual Report easily.
- 3.2. The SMA Annual Report 2023/2024 was adopted as proposed by Dr Wong Chiang Yin (Wong CY) and seconded by Adj Asst Prof Raj Menon.

#### 4 AUDITED STATEMENTS OF ACCOUNTS FOR YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2023

- 4.1 Adj A/Prof Ng Chew Lip (Ng CL), SMA Honorary Treasurer, presented the accounts for the SMA Group. He reported that the SMA Group closed 2023 with a surplus of \$643,556.
- 4.2 Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee (Tan SW), SMAPL Chairperson, presented the accounts for SMA Pte Ltd (SMAPL).
- 4.3 Adj Prof Tan SW highlighted that the previous investments in UBS had been mainly transferred to fixed deposits. For 2023, SMAPL achieved a net gain of \$382,310 after tax.
- 4.4 The audited SMA and SMAPL financial statements for the year ended 31 December 2023 were adopted as proposed by Dr Wong CY and seconded by Dr Chie Zhi Ying.

#### 5 ELECTION OF SMA HONORARY MEMBERS

- 5.1 In accordance with Article IV, Section iv of the SMA Constitution, the meeting considered the proposal of the SMA Council to elect Prof Kua Ee Heok and Prof Nambiar Rajmohan as SMA Honorary Members.
- 5.2 Brief CVs of both nominees were presented to members.
- 5.3 Members present affirmed the Council's proposal.

# 6 ELECTION OF 65TH SMA COUNCIL

- 6.1 The list of Council Members in the 64<sup>th</sup> SMA Council was presented.
- 6.2 Dr Ng Chee Kwan (Ng CK) took the opportunity to thank SMA members. He hoped that members joined SMA not just for benefits such as Mandatory Medical Ethics (MME) CME points, but also to provide SMA with a moral mandate to continue its advocacy work for the medical profession and patients. He also thanked fellow council members for their invaluable guidance, wisdom and dedication.
- 6.3 Dr Ng CK also thanked Dr Wong Tien Hua, who was stepping down from the SMA Council. Dr Wong had served in the SMA Council since 2004, and was SMA President from 2015 to 2018. Finally, Dr Ng thanked the SMA Secretariat for the smooth running of various programmes,
- The names of the 10 Council Members who would be serving their second year on the Council were announced, as follows:

Dr Tammy Chan Teng Mui	Dr Ng Chee Kwan	
Dr Lee Pheng Soon	Adj Asst Prof Raj Kumar Menon	
Dr Lee Yee Mun	Dr Tan Yia Swam	
Dr Lim Kheng Choon	Dr Toh Choon Lai	
Dr Michael Lim Khong Jin	Dr Wong Chiang Yin	

6.5 By the stipulated deadline, 9 nominations were received for the 10 vacancies. The 9 nominees were therefore elected to the 65<sup>th</sup> SMA Council, as follows:

A/Prof Anantham Devanand	Adj Asst Prof Lambert Low Tchern	
	Kuang	
Dr Chie Zhi Ying	Adj A/Prof Ng Chew Lip	
Dr Daniel Lee Hsien Chieh	Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee	
Clin Asst Prof Benny Loo Kai Guo	Dr Tina Tan Zhenwen	
Dr Ivan Low Jinrong		

6.6 The 19 members of the 65<sup>th</sup> SMA Council were announced:

A/Prof Anantham Devanand	Adj Asst Prof Lambert Low Tchern	
	Kuang	
Dr Tammy Chan Teng Mui	Dr Ng Chee Kwan	
Dr Chie Zhi Ying	Adj A/Prof Ng Chew Lip	
Dr Daniel Lee Hsien Chieh	Dr Raj Kumar Menon	
Dr Lee Pheng Soon	Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee	
Dr Lee Yee Mun	Dr Tan Yia Swam	
Dr Lim Kheng Choon	Dr Tina Tan Zhenwen	
Dr Michael Lim Khong Jin	Dr Toh Choon Lai	
Clin Asst Prof Benny Loo Kai Guo	Dr Wong Chiang Yin	

Dr Ivan Low Jinrong	

#### 7 ELECTION OF EXECUTIVE OFFICERS FOR YEAR 2024/2025

- 7.1 Clin Asst Prof B Loo conducted the election for Office Bearers. One nomination was received for each of the posts of President, 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President, 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President, Honorary Secretary, Honorary Assistant Secretary, Honorary Treasurer and Honorary Assistant Treasurer.
- 7.2 The following were elected Office Bearers of the 65<sup>th</sup> SMA Council:

OFFICE	NOMINEE	PROPOSER	SECONDER
President	Dr Ng Chee Kwan	Dr Wong Chiang Yin	Adj A/Prof Ng Chew
			Lip
1 <sup>st</sup> Vice President	Dr Daniel Lee Hsien	Dr Ng Chee Kwan	Dr Lee Yee Mun
	Chieh		
2 <sup>nd</sup> Vice President	Dr Lim Kheng Choon	Dr Ng Chee Kwan	A/Prof Anantham
			Devanand
Honorary Secretary	Clin Asst Prof Benny	Dr Ng Chee Kwan	Dr Wong Chiang Yin
	Loo Kai Guo		
<b>Honorary Assistant</b>	Dr Chie Zhi Ying	Dr Ng Chee Kwan	Adj Asst Prof Raj
Secretary			Menon
Honorary Treasurer	Adj A/Prof Ng Chew	Dr Ng Chee Kwan	A/Prof Anantham
	Lip		Devanand
Honorary Assistant	Adj Asst Prof Raj	Dr Ng Chee Kwan	A/Prof Anantham
Treasurer	Menon		Devanand

#### 8 APPOINTMENT OF TRUSTEES FOR SMA TRUST FUND

- 8.1 Members present approved unanimously the appointment of the following as Trustees to the SMA Trust Fund, for a 3-year term from 2024 to 2027:
  - A/Prof Cheong Pak Yean
  - Dr Lee Pheng Soon
  - Prof Low Cheng Hock
  - Dr Tan Kok Soo

### 9 APPOINTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AUDITORS

9.1 Members present approved the appointment of Kreston David Yeung PAC as Professional Auditors for the ensuing year.

# 10 SMA CHARITY FUND (SMACF)

- 10.1 Adj A/Prof Ng CL presented the slides for SMA Charity Fund (SMACF) on behalf of Dr Chong Yeh Woei, SMACF Chairperson.
- 10.2 SMACF awarded bursaries to 43 medical students in 2023/24, disbursing a total of \$258,000.

There being no other matters, Clin Asst Prof B Loo declared the AGM closed at 3.04 pm.

### **CLIN ASST PROF BENNY LOO KAI GUO**

Honorary Secretary Singapore Medical Association