

#### SINGAPORE MEDICAL ASSOCIATION

### UNCONFIRMED MINUTES OF THE 62ND ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING (AGM)

### HELD ON 24 APRIL 2022 (SUNDAY) AT 2 PM, VIA TELECONFERENCE (ZOOM)

**Members Present: 24** 

#### In Attendance:

Ms Krysania Tan, Chief Administrator Mr Lee Sze Yong, Manager Ms Angeline Teoh, Senior Manager

At 2 pm, 10 members had signed in, which was insufficient for a quorum as required under Article XI, Section (3)(i) of the SMA Constitution. Dr Ng Chew Lip (Ng CL), Honorary Secretary, adjourned the meeting for 30 minutes in accordance to Article XI, Section (3)(ii).

At 2.30 pm, with 24 members signed in, Dr Ng CL called the meeting to order on behalf of SMA President, Dr Tan Yia Swam (Tan YS).

Members present observed a minute of silence in memory of 23 members of the Association who passed away since the last AGM.

### 1. OPENING ADDRESS

- 1.1 2021 was a year of transition for SMA and the medical profession. Dr Tan YS highlighted the following points in her Opening Address:
  - (a) Even with the COVID-19 pandemic situation stabilising, challenges remain for the medical profession; SMA has continued to engage in meaningful discussions with various Ministries.
  - (b) The welfare of junior doctors and harassments faced by healthcare workers are emerging areas of concern.
  - (c) Several new initiatives are in motion, and SMA looks forward to positive outcomes.

### **GROUND RULES**

2.1 Honorary Secretary, Dr Ng CL highlighted the Ground Rules, and requested the usage of the Chat function in Zoom to post questions or comments. Members present were reminded to keep their microphone muted, unless they were speaking. Dr Ng also sought members' cooperation to identify themselves by name for the recording of the proceedings. The polling function in Zoom would be used for voting.

# 3. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF 2021 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

- 3.1 The 2021 minutes were taken as adopted in accordance with Article XI Section 4. There were no matters arising from the 2021 AGM minutes.
- 4. REVIEW OF ANNUAL REPORT OF THE 62<sup>nd</sup> SMA COUNCIL 2021/2022

- 4.1 Dr Ng CL referred members to the SMA 62<sup>nd</sup> Annual Report 2021/2022. The website link to the Annual Report was circulated to members via email, prior to the AGM. A QR code was also included in the AGM presentation, for members present to access the Annual Report easily.
- 4.2 The SMA 62<sup>nd</sup> Annual Report 2021/2022 was adopted as proposed by Dr Wong Tien Hua and seconded by Dr Ng Chee Kwan.

### 5. AUDITED STATEMENTS OF ACCOUNTS FOR YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2021

- 5.1 Dr Daniel Lee Hsien Chieh, SMA Honorary Treasurer, presented the accounts for the SMA Group. He highlighted that the SMA Group closed 2021 with an operating surplus of about \$414,000.
- 5.2 Adj. Prof Tan Sze Wee presented the accounts for SMA Pte Ltd (SMAPL), For 2021, the investment account achieved a net profit of \$923,000 after tax, which included a dividend income of \$226,000.
- 5.3 The audited SMA and SMAPL financial statements for the year ended 31 December 2021 were adopted as proposed by Dr Lambert Low Tchern Kuang and seconded by Dr Wong Chiang Yin.

#### 6 SMA CHARITY FUND (SMACF)

- 6.1 Dr Chong Yeh Woei (Chong YW), Chairperson of SMACF presented the report. He provided an introduction of the SMACF Board of Directors, and SMACF's strategic initiatives which remain focused on helping needy medical students. He also highlighted that 2 new directors, Dr Chie Zhi Ying and Dr Ng CL will join the SMACF Board. A/Prof Tan Sze Wee and Dr Wong Chiang Yin are stepping down as their tenure have ended.
- 6.2 SMACF managed to award bursaries to 57 medical students in 2021, disbursing a total of \$285,000.
- 6.3 Key initiatives in 2022 include a new SMACF website, leveraging Tote Board's dollar-for-dollar matching grant as part of fundraising efforts, with SMACF being selected as one of the beneficiaries of the President's Challenge 2022, and an in-person meeting with bursary recipients.

### 7 ELECTION OF SMA HONORARY MEMBER

- 7.1 In accordance with Article IV, Section (iv) of the SMA Constitution, the Meeting considered the proposal of the 62<sup>nd</sup> SMA Council to elect Prof Tan Chorh Chuan as a SMA Honorary Member.
- 7.2 Members present affirmed the Council's proposal.

## 8 ELECTION OF 63RD SMA COUNCIL

8.1 The names of the 10 Council Members who would be serving their second year on the Council were announced.

Dr Tammy Chan Teng Mui	Dr Raj Kumar Menon
Dr Lee Pheng Soon	Adj Asst Prof Tan Tze Lee
Dr Lee Yee Mun	Dr Tan Yia Swam
Dr Lim Kheng Choon	Dr Toh Choon Lai
Dr Ng Chee Kwan	Dr Wong Chiang Yin

8.2 By the stipulated deadline, 10 nominations were received for the 10 vacancies. The 10 nominees were therefore elected to the 63<sup>rd</sup> SMA Council.

Dr Anantham Devanand	Dr Lambert Low Tchern Kuang		
Dr Chie Zhi Ying	Dr Ng Chew Lip		
Dr Daniel Lee Hsien Chieh	Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee		
Dr Benny Loo Kai Guo	Dr Tina Tan Zhenwen		
Dr Ivan Low Jinrong	Dr Wong Tien Hua		

8.3 The 20 members of the 63<sup>rd</sup> SMA Council were announced:

Dr Anantham Devanand	Dr Ng Chee Kwan	
Dr Tammy Chan Teng Mui	Dr Ng Chew Lip	
Dr Chie Zhi Ying	Dr Raj Kumar Menon	
Dr Daniel Lee Hsien Chieh	Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee	
Dr Lee Pheng Soon	Dr Tan Tze Lee	
Dr Lee Yee Mun	Dr Tan Yia Swam	
Dr Lim Kheng Choon	Dr Tina Tan Zhenwen	
Dr Benny Loo Kai Guo	Dr Toh Choon Lai	
Dr Ivan Low Jinrong	Dr Wong Chiang Yin	
Dr Lambert Low Tchern Kuang	Dr Wong Tien Hua	

### 9 ELECTION OF EXECUTIVE OFFICERS FOR YEAR 2022/2023

- 9.1 Dr Ng CL conducted the election for Office Bearers. One nomination was received for each of the posts of President, 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President, 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President, Honorary Secretary, Honorary Assistant Secretary, Honorary Treasurer and Honorary Assistant Treasurer.
- 9.2 The following were elected Office Bearers of the 63<sup>rd</sup> SMA Council:

OFFICE	NOMINEE	PROPOSER	SECONDER
President	Dr Tan Yia Swam	Dr Ng Chee Kwan	Dr Toh Choon Lai
1 <sup>st</sup> Vice President	Dr Ng Chee Kwan	Dr Tan Yia Swam	Dr Toh Choon Lai
2 <sup>nd</sup> Vice President	Dr Tammy Chan Teng Mui	Dr Tan Yia Swam	Dr Tan Tze Lee
Honorary Secretary	Dr Ng Chew Lip	Dr Tan Yia Swam	Dr Toh Choon Lai
Honorary Assistant Secretary	Dr Benny Loo Kai Guo	Dr Tan Yia Swam	Dr Chie Zhi Ying
Honorary Treasurer	Dr Daniel Lee Hsien Chieh	Dr Tan Yia Swam	Dr Toh Choon Lai
Honorary Assistant Treasurer	Dr Lee Yee Mun	Dr Tan Yia Swam	Dr Chie Zhi Ying

## 10 REPLACEMENT OF TRUSTEE FOR SMAPL

- 10.1 The Trustees of the Singapore Medical Association Pte Ltd (SMAPL) are currently serving a 5-year term, 2020 to 2025.
  - (a) Prof Chee Yam Cheng
  - (b) A/Prof Chew Suok Kai
  - (c) Dr Tan Cheng Bock
- 10.2 Dr Tan Cheng Bock had requested to step down as a SMAPL Trustee.
- 10.3 Members present unanimously approved the appointment of A/Prof Cheong Pak Yean to replace Dr Tan Cheng Bock as a SMAPL Trustee.

### 11 APPOINTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AUDITORS

11.1 Members present unanimously approved the appointment of Kreston David Yeung PAC as Professional Auditors for the ensuing year.

## 12 ANY OTHER BUSINESS

12.1 Dr Chong YW enquired if the SMA Annual Dinner will be held this year. This matter will be deliberated at the upcoming SMA council meeting in May 2022.

There being no other matters, Dr Ng CL declared the AGM closed at 3.05pm.

## **DR NG CHEW LIP**

**Honorary Secretary**