

SMA Annual General Meeting

Text by Lee Sze Yong, Manager, Council Support

Dr Ng Chee Kwan was re-elected as SMA President during the SMA Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on 28 April 2024, conducted in hybrid format.

Honorary Secretary Clinical Asst Prof Benny Loo Kai Guo started the proceedings by thanking Members for attending the AGM either in-person or via teleconference. He also highlighted the ground rules for the AGM. The 2023 AGM minutes were confirmed and adopted, with no matters arising from it.

Members present were referred to the SMA Annual Report 2023/2024 themed "Shaping Tomorrow's Healthcare Together". The Annual Report was then adopted.

Next, Honorary Treasurer Adj A/Prof Ng Chew Lip presented the 2023 accounts for SMA Group (SMA and SMA Pte Ltd [SMAPL]), of which he highlighted a surplus of \$643K after tax in 2023.

The accounts for SMAPL were presented by Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee, Chairperson of SMAPL. SMAPL's previous investments in UBS Singapore have been mainly transferred to fixed deposits. For 2023, SMAPL achieved a net gain of \$382K after tax.

Members present affirmed the SMA Council's proposal to elect Prof Kua Ee Heok and Prof Rajmohan Nambiar as SMA Honorary Members.

The list of current Council members was presented, and Dr Ng Chee Kwan took the opportunity to thank Members. He hoped that Members joined not just for benefits, such as the recent mandatory medical ethics continuing

medical education modules, but also to provide SMA with a moral mandate for advocacy work. He also thanked fellow Council members for their guidance, wisdom and dedication.

Dr Ng then proceeded to thank Dr Wong Tien Hua, who is stepping down from the SMA Council. Dr Wong has served on the SMA Council since 2004 and was SMA President from 2015 to 2018. Finally, Dr Ng thanked the SMA Secretariat for the smooth running of various programmes.

Elections for the 65th SMA Council were then conducted, followed by elections for the executive committee.

Members present affirmed the appointment of Trustees, A/Prof Cheong Pak Yean, Dr Lee Pheng Soon, Prof Low Cheng Hock and Dr Tan Kok Soo, for the SMA Trust Fund from 2024 to 2027.

Members present also affirmed the re-appointment of Kreston David Yeung PAC as professional auditors for 2024.

Adj A/Prof Ng Chew Lip presented the slides for SMA Charity Fund (SMACF) on behalf of Dr Chong Yeh Woei, SMACF Chairperson. SMACF awarded bursaries to 43 medical students in the academic year 2023/24, disbursing a total of \$258K.

With that, the AGM was concluded. ◆

65th SMA Council 2024-2025

President Dr Ng Chee Kwan

1st Vice President Dr Daniel Lee Hsien Chieh

2nd Vice President Dr Lim Kheng Choon

Honorary Secretary Clinical Asst Prof Benny Loo Kai Guo

Honorary Assistant Secretary Dr Chie Zhi Ying

> **Honorary Treasurer** Adj A/Prof Ng Chew Lip

Honorary Assistant Treasurer Adj Asst Prof Raj Kumar Menon

Council Member

A/Prof Anantham Devanand Dr Chan Teng Mui Tammy Dr Lee Pheng Soon Dr Lee Yee Mun Dr Lim Khong Jin Michael

Dr Ivan Low Jinrong Adj Asst Prof Lambert Low Tchern Kuang Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee

> Dr Tan Yia Swam Dr Tina Tan Zhenwen Dr Toh Choon Lai

Dr Wong Chiang Yin

Leaend

1. Standing (from left): Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee, Dr Lee Yee Mun, Dr Lim Khong Jin Michael, Dr Tina Tan Zhenwen, Dr Toh Choon Lai, Dr Wong Chiang Yin, A/Prof Anantham Devanand

Sitting (from left): Adj Asst Prof Raj Kumar Menon, Adj A/Prof Ng Chew Lip, Dr Daniel Lee Hsien Chieh, Dr Ng Chee Kwan, Clin Asst Prof Benny Loo Kai Guo, Dr Chie Zhi Ying

Not in picture: Dr Chan Teng Mui Tammy, Dr Lee Pheng Soon, Dr Lim Kheng Choon, Dr Ivan Low Jinrong, Adj Asst Prof Lambert Low Tchern Kuang, Dr Tan Yia Swam