

## SMA Annual General Meeting

SMA congratulates Dr Ng Chee Kwan, who was elected as SMA President during the SMA Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on 30 April 2023, conducted in hybrid format.

Outgoing SMA President Dr Tan Yia Swam started the proceedings by thanking Members for attending the AGM either in person or via teleconference.

Honorary Secretary Adj Asst Prof Ng Chew Lip highlighted the ground rules for the AGM and led the review of the 2022 AGM minutes. The minutes were confirmed and adopted, with no matters arising from it.

Having achieved quorum at the AGM, Members present voted on the agenda item relating to two proposed amendments to the SMA Constitution. The first amendment related to a proposed increase of membership fees to \$250 (before GST), which was last amended in 2007. The second amendment related to a proposed change that AGMs may be held in person, electronically, or a combination of both.

Voting was conducted using the Zoom poll function for online attendees and physical voting slips for attendees who were present in person.

Text by Lee Sze Yong, Manager, Council Support

Both amendments passed with the required two-thirds majority. SMA is in the process of submitting the changes to the Registry of Societies for approval.

A minute of silence was then observed for SMA Members who have passed away since the 2022 AGM.

Members present were referred to the SMA Annual Report 2022/2023 themed "Partnering Doctors, Shaping Healthcare". The Annual Report was then adopted.

Next, Honorary Treasurer Dr Daniel Lee Hsien Chieh presented the 2022 accounts for SMA, of which he highlighted an operating surplus of \$279K (excluding investment accounts) in 2022.

The accounts for SMA Pte Ltd (SMAPL) were presented by Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee, Chairperson of SMAPL. SMAPL's profit and loss statement largely depends on the performance of its investments. For 2022, SMAPL's investment account recorded a net loss of \$1M after tax which included a dividend income of \$192K.

Dr Chong Yeh Woei, Chairperson of the SMA Charity Fund (SMACF), then presented his report. SMACF awarded bursaries to 51 medical students in 2022/23, disbursing a total of \$255,000. Members present affirmed the SMA Council's proposal to elect Minister for Foreign Affairs Dr Vivian Balakrishnan as an SMA Honorary Member.

Elections for the 64th SMA Council were then conducted. The AGM noted an appreciation of thanks to Adj A/Prof Tan Tze Lee, who is stepping down from the SMA Council. Adj A/Prof Tan TL has served in the SMA Council since 2013.

New Council member Dr Lim Khong Jin Michael, a principal family physician at the Institute of Mental Health, made an introduction at the AGM and shared his commitment to serve members of the profession alongside fellow Council members.

The election for the executive committee was then conducted. With that, the AGM was concluded. ◆

## Legend

1. Standing (from left): Dr Anantham Devanand, Dr Wong Chiang Yin, Dr Tan Zhenwen Tina, Adj Prof Tan Tze Wee, Dr Raj Kumar Menon, Dr Lee Yee Mun, Dr Daniel Lee Hsien Chieh, Dr Wong Tien Hua, Dr Lim Khong Jin Michael

Sitting (from left): Adj Asst Prof Low Tchern Kuang Lambert, Adj Asst Prof Ng Chew Lip, Dr Tan Yia Swam, Dr Ng Chee Kwan, Dr Chan Teng Mui Tammy, Clinical Asst Prof Benny Loo Kai Guo, Dr Chie Zhi Ying

Not in picture: Dr Lee Pheng Soon, Dr Lim Kheng Choon, Dr Ivan Low Jinrong, Dr Toh Choon Lai

64th SMA Council 2023–2024		
President Dr Ng Chee Kwan • Urologist at CK Ng Urology & Minimally Invasive Surgery	Council Member Dr Anantham Devanand • Specialist in Respiratory Medicine, Intensive Care Medicine, Internal Medicine at Singapore General Hospital	Council Member Dr Raj Kumar Menon • Trauma and Vascular Surgeon at National University Hospital
<b>1st Vice President</b> Dr Tan Yia Swam • Nominated Member of Parliament • General Surgeon at Thomson Breast Centre	Council Member Dr Daniel Lee Hsien Chieh • CEO at Thomson Medical Centre	Council Member Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee • Assistant Chief Executive, Enterprise at Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR)
<ul> <li>2nd Vice President</li> <li>Dr Chan Teng Mui Tammy</li> <li>Family Physician at TC Family Clinic</li> </ul>	Council Member Dr Lee Pheng Soon • Family Physician at Family Doctors at 365	Council Member Dr Tan Zhenwen Tina • Psychiatrist at Better Life Psychological Medicine Clinic
Honorary Secretary Clinical Asst Prof Benny Loo Kai Guo • Paediatrician at KK Women's & Children's Hospital	Council Member Dr Lee Yee Mun • Urologist at Nexus Surgical	Council Member Dr Toh Choon Lai • Orthopaedic Surgeon at Orthopaedic Associates
Honorary Assistant Secretary Dr Chie Zhi Ying • Family Physician at National Healthcare Group Polyclinics	Council Member Dr Lim Kheng Choon • Radiologist at Singapore General Hospital	Council Member Dr Wong Chiang Yin • Public Health Physician in private sector
Honorary Treasurer Adj Asst Prof Ng Chew Lip • ENT Surgeon at Ng Teng Fong General Hospital	Council Member Dr Lim Khong Jin Michael • Family Physician at Institute of Mental Health	Council Member Dr Wong Tien Hua • Family Physician at Mutual Healthcare Medical Clinic
Honorary Assistant Treasurer Adj Asst Prof Low Tchern Kuang Lambert • Psychiatrist at Institute of Mental Health	Council Member Dr Ivan Low Jinrong • Doctor at HQ Medical Corps, Singapore Armed Forces	