# 2017 SMA ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Text by Lee Sze Yong, Manager, Council Support

Dr Wong Tien Hua was re-elected as SMA President during the SMA Annual General Meeting (AGM), held at the Alumni Medical Centre on 9 April 2017.

Dr Wong started the proceedings by thanking members for attending the AGM. He highlighted SMA's various activities in 2016, including advocacy on managed care issues, and also thanked various SMA representatives for volunteering their services and time.

Honorary Secretary Dr Daniel Lee referred members to the SMA Annual Report 2016/2017. Following which, Honorary Treasurer Dr Tammy Chan presented the accounts for SMA, highlighting various key elements of the financial statements. The bulk of SMA's income came from services rendered to indemnity providers, which will come under strain in 2017 due to the changes in indemnity arrangements for public sector doctors. Membership subscriptions contribute about 21% of the SMA Group's total income. The bulk of the expenses were towards membership-related activities, publication expenses and general office manpower expenses.

Dr Chong Yeh Woei, one of the executive directors of SMA Pte Ltd (SMAPL), presented the accounts for SMAPL, highlighting SMAPL's main role of investing returns from SMA's surplus. Dr Chong highlighted SMAPL's rebalancing to a 60% equity portfolio.

Dr Noorul Fatha As'art, one of the board members of the SMA Charity Fund (SMACF), provided a brief on SMACF's objectives, past projects and activities, and upcoming plans. She highlighted the need for SMACF to inspire more donations to meet the needs of its current charitable activities, which focus mainly on the living expenses support for needy medical students across all three local medical schools.

Members present affirmed the SMA Council's proposal to elect Dr Chan Sing Kit and A/Prof Goh Lee Gan as SMA Honorary Members. The Honorary Membership was conferred during the SMA Annual Dinner on 6 May 2017.

Elections for the 58th SMA Council were then conducted. The SMA Council looks forward to serving its members and the medical community, for the betterment of healthcare for all Singaporeans. ◆



**Standing (from left):** Dr Noorul Fatha As'art, Dr Lee Hsien Chieh Daniel, Dr Chan Teng Mui Tammy, Dr Tan Tse Kuang Charles, Dr Chong Yeh Woei, Dr Toh Choon Lai, A/Prof Tan Choon Kiat Nigel, Dr Woon Yng Yng Bertha

**Sitting (from left):** Dr Lee Yik Voon, Dr Anantham Devanand, Dr Tan Tze Lee, Dr Wong Tien Hua, Dr Loo Kai Guo Benny, Dr Ng Chee Kwan, Dr Tan Yia Swam

**Not in picture:** A/Prof Chin Jing Jih, Dr Lee Pheng Soon, Dr Lim Kheng Choon, Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee, Dr Wong Chiang Yin

## 58TH SMA COUNCIL 2017 — 2018

### **PRESIDENT**

Dr Wong Tien Hua

### **1ST VICE PRESIDENT**

Dr Tan Tze Lee

### **2ND VICE PRESIDENT**

Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee

### **HONORARY SECRETARY**

Dr Lim Kheng Choon

# HONORARY ASSISTANT SECRETARY

Dr Anantham Devanand

### **HONORARY TREASURER**

Dr Loo Kai Guo Benny

# HONORARY ASSISTANT TREASURER

Dr Ng Chee Kwan

### **COUNCIL MEMBERS**

Dr Chan Teng Mui Tammy

A/Prof Chin Jing Jih

Dr Chong Yeh Woei

Dr Noorul Fatha As'art

Dr Lee Hsien Chieh Daniel

Dr Lee Pheng Soon

Dr Lee Yik Voon

A/Prof Tan Choon Kiat Nigel

Dr Tan Tse Kuang Charles

Dr Tan Yia Swam

Dr Toh Choon Lai

Dr Wong Chiang Yin

Dr Woon Yng Yng Bertha