SMA Annual General Meeting

Text by Lee Sze Yong, Manager, Council Support

The 2022 SMA Annual General Meeting (AGM) was successfully conducted on 24 April 2022, with the 62nd Council and SMA Members in attendance.

SMA President Dr Tan Yia Swam started the proceedings by thanking Members for attending the AGM via teleconference. She highlighted the following key points during the President's message:

- 1. Post-COVID-19 challenges that remain for the profession, continued engagement with stakeholders on relevant issues.
- 2. Junior doctors' welfare including harassment/ bullying concerns.

Honorary Secretary Dr Ng Chew Lip then highlighted the ground rules for the teleconferencing AGM, and referred Members to the SMA Annual Report 2021/2022 themed "Advocating Change".

Honorary Treasurer Dr Daniel Lee Hsien Chieh presented the 2021 accounts for SMA, of which he highlighted an operating surplus of \$414K (excluding investment accounts) in 2021. The accounts for SMA Pte Ltd (SMAPL) were presented by Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee, Chairperson of SMAPL. SMAPL's profit and loss statement largely depends on the performance of its investments. For 2021, SMAPL's investment account achieved a net profit of \$923K after tax, which includes a dividend income of \$226K.

Dr Chong Yeh Woei, Chairperson of the SMA Charity Fund (SMACF), reported that SMACF awarded bursaries to 57 medical students in 2021, disbursing a total of \$285,000.

Members present affirmed the SMA Council's proposal to elect Prof Tan Chorh Chuan as an SMA Honorary Member. The Honorary Membership will be conferred during the SMA Annual Dinner, to be held in November this year.

Elections for the 63rd SMA Council were then conducted, and Dr Tan Yia Swam was re-elected as SMA President for her third term. Following which, the election for the executive committee was conducted.

The AGM also approved the appointment of A/Prof Cheong Pak Yean to replace Dr Tan Cheng Bock as a Trustee of the SMAPL.

With that, the AGM was concluded. ◆

63rd SMA Council 2022-2023



President

Dr Tan Yia Swam MBBS (S), MMed (Surg), FRCS

- · Nominated Member of Parliament
- · General Surgeon at Thomson Breast Centre



Honorary Treasurer

Dr Daniel Lee Hsien Chieh MBBS (S), MPH (Harvard), GDFM (S)

· General Manager & Chief Operating Officer at **Thomson Medical**



1st Vice President

2nd Vice President

Dr Na Chee Kwan MBBS (S), FRCSEd, FRCS (Glasg)

Dr Tammy Chan Teng Mui

MBBS (S), GDOM (S), GDMH (S)

· Family Physician at T C Family Clinic

Urologist at CK Ng Urology & Minimally Invasive Surgery



Honorary Assistant Treasurer

Dr Lee Yee Mun MMed (Surg), MPH, FRCSEd

· Urologist at Nexus Surgical



Council Member

Dr Anantham Devanand MBBS (Lond), MRCP (UK)

· Specialist in Respiratory Medicine, Intensive Care Medicine, Internal Medicine at Singapore General Hospital



Honorary Secretary

Dr Ng Chew Lip MBBS (S), MRCS (RCSEd, UK), MMed (ORL) (S)

• ENT Surgeon at Ng Teng Fong General Hospital



Council Member

Dr Chie Zhi Ying MBBS (S), MPH (S), MMed (FM)

• Family Physician at National Healthcare Group Polyclinics



Honorary Assistant Secretary

Dr Benny Loo Kai Guo MBBS (S), MMed (Paed) (S), MRCPCH

· Paediatrician at KK Women's & Children's Hospital



Council Member

Dr Lee Pheng Soon MBBS (S), FFPM (Pharmacology) (RCP, UK)

Family Physician at Family Doctors at 365

63rd SMA Council 2022-2023



Council Member

Dr Lim Kheng Choon
MD (S), FCFR (UK), MMed (Diag Rad)

• Radiologist at Singapore General Hospital



Council Member

Adj A/Prof Tan Tze Lee MBChB (Edin), MRCP (UK), FRCS (Edin)

• President of the College of Family Physicians Singapore

• Family Physician in The Edinburgh Clinic



Council Member

Dr Ivan Low Jinrong MBBS (S)

• Doctor at HQ Medical Corps, Singapore Armed Forces



Council Member

Dr Tan Zhenwen Tina MD (S), MRCPsych (UK), FAMS

• Psychiatrist at Better Life Psychological Medicine Clinic



Council Member

Dr Low Tchern Kuang Lambert MBBS (S), MRCPsych (UK), Dip Acup (S)

• Psychiatrist at Institute of Mental Health



Council Member

Dr Toh Choon Lai MBBS (S), MMed (Surg), FRCSEd

• Orthopaedic Surgeon at Orthopaedic Associates



Council Member

Dr Raj Kumar Menon MBBS (S), MMed (Surg), FRCSEd

 Trauma and Vascular Surgeon at National University Hospital



Council Member

Dr Wong Chiang Yin MBBS (S), MMed (Public Health), FAMS

• Executive Director & Group Chief Executive Officer at Thomson Medical



Council Member

Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee MBBS (S)

 Assistant Chief Executive, Enterprise at Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR)



Council Member

Dr Wong Tien Hua MBBS (S), MRCGH (UK), GDFM (Monash)

• Family Physician at Mutual Healthcare Medical Clinic