2018 SMA ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Text by Lee Sze Yong, Manager, Council Support

Dr Lee Yik Voon was elected as SMA President during the SMA Annual General Meeting (AGM), held at the Alumni Medical Centre on 15 April 2018.

Outgoing President Dr Wong Tien Hua began the proceedings by thanking SMA Members for attending the AGM. He highlighted several important developments in 2017, including the inception of the Ministry of Health's Fee Benchmarks Advisory Committee (of which SMA is a member of), successful advocacy efforts by the three professional bodies (Academy of Medicine Singapore, College of Family Physicians Singapore and SMA) on managed care issues, and the organisation of the inaugural Singapore Medical Week by SMA.

Dr Wong also thanked the various SMA representatives for volunteering their services and the secretariat staff for ensuring the smooth operations of SMA. He highlighted that it was a pleasure and honour to serve as SMA President for the past three years.

Honorary Secretary Dr Lim Kheng Choon referred members to the SMA Annual Report 2017/2018, which is themed "Stronger Together". Next, Honorary Treasurer Dr Loo Kai Guo Benny presented the accounts for SMA, highlighting a surplus of \$315,000 for 2017.

Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee, Chairperson of SMA Pte Ltd (SMAPL), highlighted SMAPL's main role of investing returns from SMA's surplus. SMAPL recently invested another \$1 million into the investment portfolio. A donation of \$78,000 was also made to the SMA Charity Fund (SMACF).

Dr Wong Chiang Yin, one of the SMACF board members, highlighted the need for SMACF to raise more donations

to meet the proposed target of \$450,000. These donations are mainly used to provide support for the living expenses of needy medical students across all three local medical schools.

Members present affirmed the SMA Council's proposal to elect Minister for Health Mr Gan Kim Yong as an SMA Honorary Member. The Honorary Membership was conferred during the SMA Annual Dinner held on 12 May 2018.

Members present also affirmed the re-appointment of the following members as trustees for the SMA Trust Fund for a three-year term from 2018 to 2021: A/Prof Cheong Pak Yean, Dr Lee Pheng Soon, Prof Low Cheng Hock, Dr Tan Kok Soo and Dr Tan Yew Ghee.

Also brought up during the AGM was the impending expiry of SMA's lease with the Alumni Association (AA) at 2 College Road, including the chronology of communication with AA.

Elections for the 59th SMA Council were then conducted. Dr Ng Chew Lip, a new member to the SMA Council, also made a short introduction. Dr Ng is currently an ENT associate consultant in the public sector. The SMA Council looks forward to serving members and the medical community, for the betterment of healthcare for all Singaporeans. •

Legend

Standing (from left): Dr Woon Yng Yng Bertha, Dr Lee Hsien Chieh Daniel, Dr Chan Teng Mui Tammy, Dr Tan Tze Lee, Dr Chong Yeh Woei, Dr Wong Chiang Yin, Dr Ng Chew Lip, Dr Noorul

Sitting (from left): Dr Anantham Devanand, Dr Lim Kheng Choon, Dr Wong Tien Hua, Dr Lee Yik Voon, Dr Toh Choon Lai, Dr Loo Kai Guo Benny, Dr Ng Chee Kwan

Not in picture: A/Prof Chin Jing Jih, Dr Lee Pheng Soon, A/Prof Tan Choon Kiat Nigel, Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee, Dr Tan Yia Swam

59TH SMA COUNCIL • 2018-2019

President

Dr Lee Yik Voon

1st Vice President Dr Wong Tien Hua

2nd Vice President Dr Toh Choon Lai

Honorary Secretary

Dr Lim Kheng Choon

Honorary Assistant Secretary

Dr Anantham Devanand

Honorary Treasurer

Dr Loo Kai Guo Benny

Honorary Assistant Treasurer

Dr Ng Chee Kwan

Council Members

Dr Chan Teng Mui Tammy A/Prof Chin Jing Jih Dr Chong Yeh Woei Dr Noorul Fatha As'art Dr Lee Hsien Chieh Daniel Dr Lee Pheng Soon Dr Ng Chew Lip A/Prof Tan Choon Kiat Nigel Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee Dr Tan Tze Lee Dr Tan Yia Swam Dr Wong Chiang Yin Dr Woon Yng Yng Bertha

SMA Members can access the full AGM minutes by logging into their membership portal at: https://bit.ly/2ra0xTz.