

Dr Lee Yik Voon was re-elected as SMA President during the SMA Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on 14 April 2019.

Text by Lee Sze Yong, Manager, Council Support

Dr Lee began by thanking Members for attending the AGM. Following that, he highlighted important recent developments including SMA's inputs on telemedicine, the joint survey on the National Electronic Health Record by the three professional bodies (Academy of Medicine, Singapore, College of Family Physicians Singapore and SMA), and SMA's feedback on the upcoming Healthcare Services Act.

Dr Lee ended his address by thanking all volunteers who have contributed their valuable time to support SMA.

Honorary Assistant Secretary Dr Anantham Devanand then referred Members to the SMA Annual Report 2018/2019, themed "60 years of Advancing Singapore Healthcare" (http://bit.ly/SMA-AR).

Next, Honorary Treasurer Dr Benny Loo presented the accounts for SMA, of which a loss of \$672K for 2018 was highlighted. Dr Loo also presented the accounts for SMA Pte Ltd (SMAPL). SMAPL's profit and loss statement largely depended on the performance of its investments. For 2018, we suffered a \$575K unrealised fair value loss from investments due to Asian markets tumbling at the year-end as a result of China and the US being engulfed in a trade war.

Mr Martin Ho, SMA Chief Administrator, presented updates for the SMA Charity

Fund (SMACF). Dr Chong Yeh Woei, Ms Koh Lin-Net and Dr Roland Xu have recently joined the SMACF Board of Directors (see page 25), while Prof Thio Li-Ann, Dr Charles Toh and Prof Wong Tien Yin have stepped down from the Board. The Board extends their appreciation for their service.

Members present affirmed the SMA Council's proposal to elect Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam as an SMA Honorary Member. The Honorary Membership has been conferred during the SMA Annual Dinner on 4 May 2019.

Elections for the 60th SMA Council were then conducted. Members present were also updated on SMA's lease with the Alumni Association (AA) at 2 College Road, including the chronology of communication with AA.

As the stipulated quorum of 50 members was not reached, the proposed amendments to the SMA Constitution were not discussed.

With that, the AGM was concluded. The 60th SMA Council looks forward to continuing the good work of the Association in the year ahead. •

60th SMA Council 2019-2020

President

Dr Lee Yik Voon

1st Vice President

Dr Tan Yia Swam

2nd Vice President

Dr Lee Hsien Chieh Daniel

Honorary Secretary

Dr Lim Kheng Choon

Honorary Assistant Secretary

Dr Loo Kai Guo Benny

Honorary Treasurer

Dr Ng Chee Kwan

Honorary Assistant Treasurer

Dr Woon Yng Yng Bertha

Council Members

Dr Anantham Devanand Dr Chan Teng Mui Tammy A/Prof Chin Jing Jih Dr Chong Yeh Woei Dr Lee Pheng Soon Dr Na Chew Lip Dr Noorul Fatha As'art A/Prof Tan Choon Kiat Nigel Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee Dr Tan Tze Lee Dr Toh Choon Lai Dr Wong Chiang Yin Dr Wong Tien Hua

Legend

1. Standing (from left): Dr Toh Choon Lai, Dr Wong Chiang Yin, Dr Tan Tze Lee, Dr Chong Yeh Woei, A/Prof Tan Choon Kiat Nigel, Dr Anantham Devanand

Sitting (from left): Dr Chan Teng Mui Tammy, Dr Loo Kai Guo Benny, Dr Tan Yia Swam, Dr Lee Yik Voon, Dr Lee Hsien Chieh Daniel, Dr Ng Chee Kwan, Dr Noorul Fatha As'art

Not in picture: Dr Lim Kheng Choon, Dr Woon Yng Yng Bertha, A/Prof Chin Jing Jih, Dr Lee Pheng Soon, Dr Ng Chew Lip, Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee, Dr Wong Tien Hua