

2020 SMA Annual General Meeting

Text by Lee Sze Yong, Manager, Council Support

Dr Tan Yia Swam was elected as SMA President during the SMA Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on 19 April 2020.

President of the 60th SMA Council, Dr Lee Yik Voon, started the proceedings by thanking Members for attending the AGM via teleconference. He highlighted the following during the President's message:

- SMA will continue to be a strong advocate and an active voice for the profession and our patients.
- SMA's participation in the Ministry of Health (MOH) Workgroup to Review the Taking of Informed Consent and SMC Disciplinary Process – sensible resolutions can be achieved, with the interests of patients upheld, and challenges faced by doctors taken into consideration.
- COVID-19 the medical profession has taken great efforts to prepare for the next pandemic, and SMA has provided practical support, such as securing N95 and surgical masks from MOH for sale to doctors in the private sector.

Dr Lee ended by thanking all SMA volunteers and expressed how it has been a privilege to serve as SMA President. He also urged all Members to strive forward as one, with a common goal to serve each other and to care for patients to the best of their ability.

Honorary Secretary Dr Lim Kheng Choon highlighted the ground rules for the teleconferencing AGM, and referred members to the SMA Annual Report 2019/2020, themed "Go the Distance".

Next, Honorary Treasurer Dr Ng Chee Kwan presented the 2019 accounts for SMA, of which he highlighted an operating deficit of \$58K.

The accounts for SMA Pte Ltd (SMAPL) was presented by Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee, Chairperson of SMAPL. SMAPL's profit and loss statement largely depends on the performance of its investments, managed by UBS. For 2019, SMAPL achieved an unrealised fair value profit of about \$600K; however, this has been superseded by events related to COVID-19 in 2020.

Dr Chong Yeh Woei, Chairperson of the SMA Charity Fund (SMACF), then presented a report on SMACF, SMA's independent charity arm. SMACF raised \$2.1 million and awarded 309 bursaries in 2019. Members present were encouraged to donate to SMACF.

Members present affirmed the SMA Council's proposal to elect Prof Chee Yam Cheng and Prof Phua Kong Boo as SMA Honorary Members. The Honorary Membership will be conferred during the SMA Annual Dinner, tentatively set on 5 September 2020.

Elections for the 61st SMA Council were then conducted. Three new council members, Dr Chie Zhi Ying, Dr Ivan Low Jinrong and Dr Tan Zhenwen Tina made introductions to the members in attendance. The remaining council vacancy was filled by Dr Low Tchern Kuang Lambert. Following which, election for the executive committee was conducted.

Incoming SMA President Dr Tan Yia Swam made an address to Members present, thanking the secretariat and the four outgoing council members and highlighted plans for SMA going forward. The role of SMA now, during this time of change, is more important than ever.

With that, the AGM was concluded. ◆

61st SMA Council 2020-2021

President

Dr Tan Yia Swam

1st Vice President

Dr Ng Chee Kwan

2nd Vice President

Dr Tammy Chan Teng Mui

Honorary Secretary

Dr Ng Chew Lip

Assistant Honorary Secretary

Dr Benny Loo Kai Guo

Honorary Treasurer

Dr Lim Kheng Choon

Assistant Honorary Treasurer

Dr Chie Zhi Ying

Council Members

Dr Anantham Devanand Dr Daniel Lee Hsien Chieh

Dr Lee Pheng Soon

Dr Ivan Low Jinrong Dr Low Tchern Kuang Lambert

A/Prof Nigel Tan Choon Kiat

Adi Prof Tan Sze Wee

Dr Tan Tze Lee

Dr Tan Zhenwen Tina

Dr Toh Choon Lai

Dr Wong Chiang Yin

Dr Wong Tien Hua Dr Bertha Woon Yng Yng