SMA Annual General Meet

Text by Lee Sze Yong, Manager, Council Support

The SMA Annual General Meeting (AGM) was held on 25 April 2021.

Dr Tan Yia Swam started the proceedings by thanking Members for attending the AGM via teleconference. She highlighted the following key points during the President's message:

- 1. Adapting to change New SMA leadership and new Chief Administrator in FY2020/2021
- 2. Adversity COVID-19, support for doctors (masks, communication, mental health), partnering with the Ministry of Health
- 3. Advocacy Website listing doctors without permission, health insurance, harassment/bullying concerns

Honorary Secretary Dr Ng Chew Lip highlighted the ground rules for the teleconferencing AGM, and referred Members to the SMA Annual Report 2020/2021 themed "Together, We Can".

Next, Honorary Treasurer Dr Lim Kheng Choon presented the 2020 accounts for SMA, of which he highlighted an

operating surplus of \$707K (excluding investment accounts) in 2020.

The accounts for SMA Pte Ltd (SMAPL) was presented by Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee, Chairperson of SMAPL. SMAPL's profit and loss statement largely depends on the performance of its investments. For 2020, SMAPL investment account achieved a net profit of \$110K after tax.

Dr Chong Yeh Woei, Chairperson of the SMA Charity Fund (SMACF), then presented his report. In 2020, SMACF awarded bursaries to 55 medical students, disbursing a total of \$275,000. Members present at the AGM were encouraged to donate to SMACF.

Members present affirmed the SMA Council's proposal to unanimously elect A/Prof Cheong Pak Yean and Dr Thirumoorthy s/o Thamotharampillai as SMA Honorary Members.

Elections for the 62nd SMA Council were then conducted. Dr Tan Yia Swam was re-elected as SMA President and two new Council members, Dr Lee

Yee Mun and Dr Raj Kumar Menon made introductions to the Members in attendance. Following which, the election for the executive committee was conducted.

The AGM meeting recorded a vote of thanks for the two outgoing Council members, A/Prof Tan Choon Kiat Nigel and Dr Woon Yng Yng Bertha, for their contributions to SMA.

The AGM approved the re-appointment of the following Trustees for the SMA Trust Fund, for a three-year term from 2021 to 2024:

- A/Prof Cheong Pak Yean
- Dr Lee Pheng Soon
- **Prof Low Cheng Hock**
- Dr Tan Kok Soo
- · Dr Tan Yew Ghee

The AGM also approved a motion of thanks to Mr Gan Kim Yong, outgoing Minister for Health, for his contributions to the healthcare profession.

With that, the AGM was concluded. •

62nd SMA Council 2021-2022



President

Dr Tan Yia Swam MBBS (S), MMed (Surg), FRCS

- · Nominated Member of Parliament
- · General Surgeon at Thomson Breast Centre



Honorary Treasurer

Dr Lee Hsien Chieh MBBS (S), MPH (Harvard), GDFM (S)

General Manager & Chief Operating Officer at Thomson



1st Vice President

Dr Ng Chee Kwan MBBS (S), FRCSEd, FRCS (Glasg)

Urologist in CK Ng Urology & Minimally Invasive Surgery



Honorary Assistant Treasurer

Dr Chie Zhi Ying MBBS (S), MPH (S), MMed (FM)

• Family Physician at National Healthcare Group Polyclinics



2nd Vice President

Dr Tammy Chan Teng Mui MBBS (S), GDOM (S), GDMH (S)

· Family Physician in T C Family Clinic



Council Member

Dr Anantham Devanand MBBS (Lond), MRCP (UK)

Specialist in Respiratory Medicine, Intensive Care Medicine, Internal Medicine at Singapore General Hospital



Honorary Secretary

Dr Ng Chew Lip MBBS (S), MRCS (RCSEd, UK), MMed (ORL) (S)

• ENT Surgeon at Ng Teng Fong General Hospital



Council Member

Dr Lee Pheng Soon MBBS (S), FFPM (Pharmacology) (RCP, UK)

Family Physician at Family Doctors at 365



Honorary Assistant Secretary

Dr Benny Loo Kai Guo MBBS (S), MMed (Paed) (S), MRCPCH

· Paediatrician at KK Women's & Children's Hospital



Council Member

Dr Lee Yee Mun MMed (Surg), MPH, FRCSEd

Urologist at Tan Tock Seng Hospital

62nd SMA Council 2021-2022



Council Member

Dr Lim Kheng Choon $MD \textit{ (S), FRCR } (\bar{\textit{UK}}), \textit{MMed } \textit{(Diag Rad)}$

• Radiologist at Singapore General Hospital



Council Member

Adi Asst Prof Tan Tze Lee MBChB (Edin), MRCP (UK), FRCP (Edin)

- President of the College of Family Physicians Singapore
- Family Physician in The Edinburgh Clinic



Council Member

Dr Ivan Low Jinrong MBBS (S)

• Doctor at HQ Medical Corps, Singapore Armed Forces



Council Member

Dr Low Tchern Kuang Lambert

• Psychiatrist at Institute of Mental Health



Council Member

Dr Tan Zhenwen Tina MD (S), MRCPsych (UK), FAMS

• Psychiatrist at Better Life Psychological Medicine Clinic



MBBS (S), MRCPsych (UK), Dip Acup (S)



Council Member

Dr Toh Choon Lai MBBS (S), MMed (Surg), FRCSEd

Orthopaedic Surgeon at Orthopaedic Associates



Council Member

Dr Raj Kumar Menon MBBS (S), MMed (Surg), FRCSEd

· General Surgeon at National University Hospital



Council Member

Dr Wong Chiang Yin MBBS (S), MMed (Public Health), FAMS

• Executive Director & Group Chief Executive Officer at **Thomson Medical**



Council Member

Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee MBBS (S)

Assistant Chief Executive, Enterprise at Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR)



Council Member

Dr Wong Tien Hua MBBS (S), MRCGH (UK), GDFM (Monash)

Family Physician at Mutual Healthcare Medical Clinic